Download Firefox
So let's get started by making sure your computer meets the minimum requirements. Do you have Firefox 3.0 or higher for Windows, Mac or Linux? If not, then click on the link to install Firefox 3.0.
Zotero and Firefox
Because Zotero works in your browser, it captures information as you do your research. The advantage of this is twofold:
- You can capture bibliographic information from many non-traditional sources such as webpages, blogs, and wikis.
-
You can pull bibliographic information from multiple databases and import it into Endnote or Refworks in one step, without downloading text files or using import filters.
Since it's a Firefox plugin, it automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.
Welcome to Zotero
How do you "collect, manage and cite" your research sources? There are many ways to go about it, from jotting down notes on a scrap of paper, to eloborate and costly services. If you are interested in a better way, then check out Zotero! Zotero is a free bibliographic record management software which is used with Firefox.
About Zotero
Zotero is a bibliographic management tool that works with Firefox. It recognizes and extracts bibliographic information from websites, library catalogs, and databases, enabling you to easily save, organize, and create bibliographies of the sources you collect. Zotero also has several features that enable you to enhance the citations you collect, including automatic capture of webpages, storage of PDF files, images, and links, as well as note taking and search capabilities. Zotero is powerful, easy to use, and free.
About This Guide
This guide to Zotero will take you step by step through the process of:
-
installing Zotero on your computer and/or browser
-
collecting information to be imported into and exported out of your Zotero library
-
organizing and managing your library for optimal performance and use
-
providing additional resources for understanding and using Zotero
License

This guide is based on a guide licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.
You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included.
Contact
For help with Zotero, feel free to contact:

Other Citation Software
If you are already using software to help manage your citations, you may find it beneficial to use Zotero in conjunction with other programs like Endnote or Refworks. Or, if you are just getting started with bibliographic management tools, Zotero can help you streamline and organize your research process.

Loading...
