Library Catalog
Films on Demand - Sociology
JSTOR
Search EBSCO
Sociology Research Guide

Start with the basic resources below
or use the tabs above to locate:
Books, Journal Articles, Reference & Data, and Film and Images.
(Tweed family photo from D. Hiden Ramsey Library's Special Collections.)
Key Social Science Resources
- Academic Search CompleteProvides thousands of full-text journals spanning a broad range of academic study. Includes coverage of: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
- JSTORScholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
- SocIndex with full textContains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. Also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers. (EBSCOhost)
- PsycARTICLESProvides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 80 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and more. (EBSCOhost)
- PsycBOOKSContains full text PDF files of 2,205 scholarly books and 33,650 chapters, including American Psychological Association publications, psychology classics and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. (EBSCOhost)
- PsycINFOContains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full-text PsycARTICLES from the APA. 1887+
- Project MuseFull text access for over 20,000 e-books and journals covering the following areas: Classics; Cultural Studies; Economics; Education; Film, Theater and Perfoming Arts; History; Judaic Studies; Language; Law; Literature; Math; Music; Philosophy and Religion; Philosophy and Science; and Politics.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - PsychologySearch the full text of Oxford scholarly publications dealing with psychology.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Social WorkSearch the full text of Oxford scholarly publications dealing with social work.
- Cambridge Journals OnlineOnline access to over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals in a wide array of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Social Science Citation IndexPart of Web of Science. Provides bibliographic and citation information from 2,474 scholarly journals published from 1955 to the present.
NOTE: Check the appropriate box on the search screen to search only SSCI.
Contact
To schedule a research
consultation, contact your
sociology librarian:
Brandy Bourne
bbourne@unca.edu
American Sociological Association News
Loading...
ICPSR
Social science data available via ICPSR!
What is the average age at which men versus women begin smoking?
Does age at marriage differ between NC and other parts of the country?
How does age, gender, education, race, or ethnicity affect political attitudes?
All these questions can be answered by studies in ICPSR, the world's largest collection of digital social science data. ICPSR data cover topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.
All UNC Asheville staff, students, and faculty have access to the extensive ICPSR data holdings via any campus computer. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data.
Email library@unca.edu for more information.





Loading...
