This is the "Slave Narratives Guide" page of the "Slave Narratives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Slave Narratives  

A guide to primary source accounts of life under slavery.
Last Updated: Jun 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.unca.edu/slavenarratives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Slave Narratives Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Slave Narratives Research Guide


John Smith, age 108
North Carolina (c. 1936-38)
American Memory Project:
Born in Slavery

 

Ramsey Library Collections

Use the following Subject Headings in the library catalog to find out what slave narratives are available in the Western North Carolina Library Network:

Slaves' writings, American

Slaves -- United States -- Biography

Slavery -- United States -- Personal narratives

Autobiography -- African American authors

Slave narratives

Primary sources of slaves and ex-slaves may include diaries, letters, interviews, transcribed songs, and even recorded folklore. 

Keyword searches using these words may yield additional books, recordings, and materials. For example: "African Americans and slave and interviews"

 

Biography Reference Center

 

Interviews and Audio

WPA Interviews of the 1930s

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938. A joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, [2000?]
Presents more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. Provides links from individual photographs to the corresponding narratives. Collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA), the narratives were assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume work entitled Slave narratives: a folk history of slavery in the United States, from interviews with former slaves.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography. Ed. George P. Rawick, et al. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Publishing Group, 2000.
(UNCA users only)
Contains the collection of over 2,000 interviews conducted in seventeen states between 1936 and 1938 under the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration, as published in 1972 in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography edited by George P. Rawick. The site contains a links to the narratives and Rawick's analysis of the collection, From Sundown to Sunup: The Making of the Black Community. Each entry links to an Adobe PDF version of the narrative as contained in the Rawick print collection, including any handwritten editorial comments made at the time.

Project Gutenberg: Works Progress Administration.

Museum of the African Diaspora
Dramatized recordings of slave narratives.

 

Audio Interviews, 1932-1975

Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories. From the American Folklife Center, Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, [2004?]
Provides the opportunity to listen to former slaves describe their lives. These interviews, conducted between 1932 and 1975, capture the recollections of twenty-three identifiable people born between 1823 and the early 1860s and known to have been former slaves. Several of the people interviewed were centenarians, the oldest being 130 at the time of the interview.

Web Resources

  • African American Archives
    Provides over one million pages of historical primary source documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries.
  • Encyclop√¶dia Britannica's Guide to Black History
    Includes images, access to texts online, biographies, historical accounts, and speeches in audio format.
  • North American Slave Narratives - Documenting the American South
    Documents the individual and collective stories of the African Americans in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. When completed, it will include all the narratives of fugitive and former slaves published in broadsides, pamphlets, or book form in English up to 1920 and many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves published in English before 1920.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Documents the field of African American Studies and Africana Studies with more than 8,000 articles, hundreds of primary source documents, images, maps, and charts and tables, covering Arts and Leisure, Business and Economics, Education and Academia, Government and Politics, History, Religion and Spirituality, and Science and Medicine.
  • The Slave Trade Archives Project
    Maintained by UNESCO. Provides access to and preservation of original archive materials relating to the slave trade.
 

Archives Unbound

x
 

Books

Some key print collections of slave narrative include the following. You can also browse the shelves in the general collection, concentrating on the E441-E453 call number range on the upper floor of the library.

The American slave: a composite autobiography. UNCA GENERAL E441 .R38 (Available in print and online)

Biography of a runaway slave.  UNCA GENERAL  CT518.M6 A3313 1994  

The Cambridge companion to the African American slave narrative.  (online)

A comprehensive name index for the American slave.  (online)

Documents illustrative of the history of the slave trade to America. UNCA GENERAL  E441 .D69

Five slave narratives; a compendium. UNCA GENERAL  E444 .F52   

Great slave narratives : selected and introduced by Arna Bontemps.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .B67

I was born a slave: the story of Harriet Jacobs.  (online)

The life of John Thompson, a fugitive slave : containing his history of 25 years in bondage, and his providential escape, written by himself.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .T47  

Pioneers of the Black Atlantic: Five Slave Narratives From the Enlightenment, 1772-1815.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .P56 

Romanticism and slave narratives : transatlantic testimonies.  UNCA GENERAL  PR448.S55 T48 

Runaway slave advertisements : a documentary history from the 1730s to 1790.  UNCA REFERENCE  E446 .W73

Six Women's Slave Narratives.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .S59

The slave narrative : its place in American history.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .S8

Slave narratives.  (online)

Slave narratives : a folk history of slavery in the United States, from interviews with former slaves.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .F27

Slave testimony : two centuries of letters, speeches, interviews, and autobiographies.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .S57

The slave ship : a human history.  UNCA GENERAL  HT1322 .R42

Twelve years a slave.  UNCA GENERAL  E444 .N87 

Women and the family in a slave society.  UNCA GENERAL  E443 .W66

The WPA Oklahoma slave narratives.  UNCA GENERAL   E444 .W82



See also the following guide: Yale University Library Primary Sources Research

 

America: History & Life

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip