Early ChristianityWomen & ReligionWorld Religions
Asian TraditionsBuddhismChristian TraditionsIslamJudiasmNative American Traditions
This is the "Religious Studies" page of the "Religious Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious Studies  

Resources for Religious Studies
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.unca.edu/religiousstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Religious Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Religious Studies is an important interdisciplinary research field. Interdisciplinary research can be complexs, but there are core sources that will quickly get you started in your search for materials. This guide will direct you to some of the recommended sources.

Start with the basic search in the Library Catalog or in WorldCat or use the tabs above to locate Books, Journal Articles, Reference Materials, and Film and Images and Special Topics.


 

Ramsey Library Catalog

  Religions of the World

Search our Catalog for Books, Journals, DVDs and more


 

JSTOR

 

Search EBSCO

Search selected EBSCO databases





(Search EBSCO from off-campus.)

 

ArtStor Image Searching

Periodical Index

Religion Index One: Periodicals (Per A1 .R4)
Subject index to over 700 journals in religion, with emphasis on religious scholarship in the West (v.13 1977/78-present).

      

      User Submission

    Help build this site.

     

    RELIGIOUS STUDIES GUIDE


    Calvary Episcopal Church, Fletcher, NC [ball1609]

    The Department of Religious Studies seeks to engage students in the study of religion as an academic discipline within the broader tradition of the liberal arts. As a field of humanistic inquiry, the study of religion at UNC Asheville investigates both the development and contemporary significance of the human religious experience from interdisciplinary perspectives that incorporate a variety of methodological approaches.

    DEPARTMENT OF RELIGIOUS STUDIES - HOME

    Key Resources - Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

    A selective list of encyclopedias and dictionaries related to the study of RELIGION found in our Reference stacks.

    • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
      This new dictionary draws inspiration from the landmark Dictionary of the History of Ideas; Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas (edited by Philip P. Wiener), published in 1973-4, by Charles Scribner's Sons (which is now available gratis online). REFERENCE CB9 .N49 2005 v.1-6
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia
      Named as one of the top "50 resources for the Millennium" by "LibraryJournal, The New Catholic Encyclopedia" has long been regarded as one of the best core references in use today by libraries and religious organizationsaround the world. The first revision in 30 years, the 15-volume Encyclopedia includes more than 12,000 entries from a wide breadth of concerns.Gale Group REFERENCE BX841 .N44 2003 v.1-20
    • History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia
      "First comprehensive survey in the field The debate over evolution's place in the school science curriculum in the United States illustrates the ongoing importance of the relationship between science and religion in the West. Surprisingly, however, that relationship has not always been a locus of contention. It has been varied and multifaceted, with religion oftentimes nurturing and encouraging scientific progress." UNCA Ref BL245 .H57 2000
    • Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
      "From biographical discussion of Muhammad `Abduh (1849-1905), the Egyptian reformer and pioneer of Islamic modernism and nationalism, to the historical development of Zionism, the 281 alphabetical articles in this two-volume encyclopedia are presented by editor Wuthnow (sociology of religion and cultural sociology, Princeton U.) with the intent of showing interconnections between politics and religion ... UNCA Ref BL65.P7 E53 2007 v.1
    • Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
      The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. Project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether.
      UNCA Ref BL458 .E52 2006 v.1-3
    • Science in the Enlightenment : An Encyclopedia
      "The first introductory A-Z resource on the dynamic achievements in science from the late 1600s to 1820, including the great minds behind the developments and science's new cultural role." UNCA Ref Q121 .B87 2003
    • Encyclopedia of African American Religions
      Preceded by three introductory essays and a chronology of major events in black religious history from 1618 to 1991, this A-Z encyclopedia includes three types of entries: * Biographical sketches of 773 African American religious leaders * 341 entries on African American denominations and religious organizations (including white churches with significant black memberships and educational institutions) * Topical articles on important aspects of African American religious life UNCA Ref BR563.N4 E5
    • Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of World Religions
      Offers an introductory look into a broad range of topics on living and ancient religions, including what we now call myth and mythology. It includes 3,500 entries listed alphabetically, with 29 longer articles on major religions such as Judaism and Hinduism, and issues such as the study of religion or symbolism and iconography. REFERENCE
    • Encyclopedia of Monasticism
      A comprehensive reference to the past and present of the three great traditions of monasticism in Buddhism and eastern and western Christianity. Comparisons are made within each strand, and to some extent between them. The articles consider people; the monastic histories of countries, cities, and individual monasteries; Buddhist and Christian topics; Roman Catholic monastic orders; and Buddhist and Christian perspectives. REFERENCE BL631 .E63 2000 v.1-2
    • The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
      "With more than four thousand entries and over one hundred illustrations, this encyclopedia offers a complete survey of the four major religious traditions of Asia. "REFERENCE BL1005 .L4813 1994
    • The Encyclopaedia of Islam Three
      Also issued online. REFERENCE DS35.53 .E535 2007 v.1-3
    • The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
      "This new edition features expansions in standing entries and the addition of some 400 new ones across the entire range of the subject (including selective coverage of a number of living philosophers, mostly thinkers in their mid- sixties or older). It covers not only Western and European philosophy, but also African, Arabic, Islamic, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, and Latin-American philosophy." REFERENCE B41 .C35 1999
    • The Encyclopedia of Judaism
      The Encyclopedia of Judaism covers the history of Judaism both by chronological periods and by geographic regions. One hundred fifteen cross-referenced, complementary essays provide systematic coverage of all aspects of Judaism, including history from ancient Israel to modern times; the philosophy and theology of medieval Judaism; ethics and law; and more. Includes an extensive index covering persons, places, things, events and practices. REFERENCE BM50 .E63 1999 Also see the electronic ver.
    • Encyclopedia of World Cultures
      REFERENCE GN307 .E53
    • Encyclopedia of Anthropology
      REFERENCE GN11 .E63 2006
    • Credo
      Contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
     

    Oxford Scholarship Online

    Science and religion        

    Oxford Scholarship logo
    Religion Collection
     

    BBC RELIGION

    Home of RELIGION and BELIEF on the BBC. A portal to the AZ of religions; interfaith calendar; tv and radio; news; message boards ...

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    Google Books



    Google Web



    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip