FDSys (formerly GPO Access)
FDSYS (formerly GPO Access). The Mother Lode of government databases for research.
U.S. CONGRESS
FDSys (formerly GPO Access). Text of bills & public laws, committee reports, and much more.
Thomas. House & Senate information, full text access to current bills, links to more congressional information. THOMAS is a service of the Library of Congress.
LexisNexis Academic. News and wire services; company, industry and market information; resources for legal and political research, medical news, government information. UNCA users only.
Tracing Legislation. Ramsey Research Guide that briefly describes the legislative process and where to find bills, laws, and related resources.
LAWS
Federal
Public Laws (1995-) GPO Access.
THOMAS (1973-) Public Laws and tools for tracing legislation. Library of Congress.
United States Code. Search by citation, Statutes at Large citation, popular name.
State
North Carolina General Statutes. North Carolina General Assembly.
LexisNexis Academic. On the Case Law menu select State Case Law.
1st AMENDMENT & FREEDOM of SPEECH
Freedom of Expression at the National Endowment for the Arts. "An interdisciplinary education project partially funded by the American Bar Association, Commission on College and University Legal Studies through the ABA Fund for Justice and Education." A fine collection of resources, including examples of legal briefs. Julie Van Camp, California State University at Long Beach.
First Amendment Lawyers Association.
The Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression.
Yahoo Arts - Censorship Directory.
GENERAL
Law Library Resource Exchange (LLRX). Directory. Organizes a large number of general legal resources.
Legal Express Directory maintained by Villanova University Law Library.
FindLaw. Index to legal research resources on the Web. Yahoo-style layout makes finding specific types of resources easy. Federal, state, and international law, law reviews, organizations, legal forms, news, etc.
LawCrawler. Search the Web for legal information. FindLaw has organized the search process for you with drop-down menus and clearly-defined search options.
NATIONAL
SUPREME COURT
The official print version of Supreme Court Decisions, called United States Reports or U.S. Reports, are available in Ramsey Library from 1966, v. 387- present. REF KF101 .U5.
Supreme Court of the United States. Home page. Links to opinions.
Guide to the Supreme Court. By Jurist, the Law Professor's Network. An introduction to the jurisprudence, structure, history and Justices of the Supreme Court. University of Pittsburgh.
Supreme Court Decisions. "Project Hermes" archive maintained by Cornell University Legal Information Institute contains nearly all opinions of the court issued since May of 1990. Also, over 600 important decisions are available as a searchable collection.
Judicial Branch Resources (GPO Access):
U.S. Supreme Court Opinions 1992-
U.S. Supreme Court Opinions 1937-1975
OYEZ. Multimedia archive of the Supreme Court.
Findlaw's Supreme Court Opinions. 1893-
FEDERAL COURT
Federal Judiciary Home Page. All about our federal court system.
Lexis-Nexis Academic. On the Case Law menu, select Federal Case Law.
U. S. Sentencing Commission. Establishes sentencing policies for federal courts.
Indexes and Databases
- CCH Tax Research NetworkFederal and state tax reporters, cases, IRS Code, rulings, legislative documents, more. Full-text. Also called Intelliconnect.
Commerce Clearing House.
NOTE: First-time users must create a free account to access this resource. - CQ Electronic LibraryFull-text access to Congressional Quarterly's CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly. Provides coverage of the U.S. Congress status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity.
- Federal & State Cases (LexisNexis)Search cases from Federal and State courts.
- Federal Legal Information Through ElectronicsContains the full text of 7,407 U.S. Supreme Court Decisions issued between 1937 and 1975.
- Legal Information Reference CenterProvides full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books. Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
- Military & Government CollectionOffers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government; includes approximately 300 full-text journals and magazines. (EBSCOhost)
- Oxford Scholarship Online - LawSearch the full text of Oxford scholarly publications dealing with law.
Citing Legal Resources
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (1997-98 ed.). Peter W. Martin, Cornell Law School.
Organized by type of material, such as cases, laws, constitutions, etc.
Student guide to research in the digital age : how to locate and evaluate information sources / Leslie F. Stebbins.
Located in Ramsey Library's GENERAL COLLECTION (ZA3075 .S74 2006), this reference covers usage of many types of accessible information including books, e-books, articles, digitized collections, biographies, legal research and government documents. A critical chapter is devoted to citing sources, avoiding plagiarism, and organizing references.
REGULATIONS
Federal Register. New rules and regulations. Presidential proclamations. Incorporated into the Code of Federal Regulations. GPO Access.
Code of Federal Regulations. April 1996- . GPO Access.
Ask Your Librarians!
- Can I print in color?
- How do I know if the library has an article I need?
- I'm having trouble accessing library resources from home.
- How do I use Google Scholar with library subscriptions?
- How do I find an article that my professor has placed on course reserves?
- Where can my group work on a project?
- How do I search the library catalog?
- How do I get materials that are not available at UNCA?

Loading...
