Library HistoryContactStaff Directory
Hours & CalendarMap & DirectionsEvents & Exhibits
Floor GuideAccessibility
Faculty CarrelsFine Appeal Form
AdministrationCirculation ServicesCollection ManagementInterlibrary LoanResearch ServicesSpecial Collections & University ArchivesTeaching & Learning with Technology ResourcesWeb Services
This is the "Collection Management" page of the "About Us" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Us  

Last Updated: Jun 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.unca.edu/about Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection Management Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact

LOCATION
Ramsey Library, lower level

PHONE
828.251.6547

EMAIL
bsvenson@unca.edu

 

UNCA

UNC Asheville Seriously Creative

 

Collection Management

The Collection Management Department develops and maintains collections of resources to support the teaching and research efforts of the University community.  The department works with faculty and librarians through the Library Liaison Program to build current collections.  The department assesses, measures and evaluates resources in terms of quality, usage and appropriateness to changing needs, and allocates the Library's collections budget. The Department represents UNC Asheville in regional and national consortia collections efforts.

Collection Management is responsible for acquisition, access, metadata/cataloging and deaccession of library materials in print and electronic formats to meet the research, teaching, and learning initiatives at UNC Asheville.

The department’s work and goals are related to the following areas:

Acquisitions
This includes ordering of print books, single title eBooks, audio-visual materials, and out-of-print titles selected by librarians and researchers; maintains continuous communications with vendors; creates accurate records of payment and ownership, monitoring the materials budget, processing payments, and reconciling invoices; works closely with the University’s Accounts Payable Department.

E-resources
This includes ordering, invoicing, and maintaining the Library’s electronic resources and print serials; oversees the checking-in and binding of print serials, standing orders, and government documents; performs daily troubleshooting of access issues for all types of electronic resources (such as databases, e-journals, e-books) and ensures all subscriptions are up-to-date for continuous and reliable access; sets up and maintains access points for all of the Library’s e-resources.

Metadata/Cataloging
This includes organizing, describing, and processing materials to provide access to tangible and intangible resources via the Library’s discovery tools, including OneSearch, and for digital objects in the Library’s content management systems; creates and maintains metadata in records for enhanced discovery of materials in a variety of formats and subject areas. Performs inventory control, physical processing of items, and receiving and routing of materials purchased by or donated to the Library.

RELATED INFORMATION
Suggest a book or services
Find your department's library liason

 

Staff

Tye Anderson

Vicki Fox

Sammy Hughes

Susan Israel

Tye Anderson
Library Assistant
tanderso@unca.edu
828-251-6635

Vicki Fox
Acquisitions Coordinator
vfox@unca.edu
828-251-5094 

Samuel Hughes
Serials Assistant
shughes@unca.edu
828-251-6625

Susan Israel
E- Resources Librarian
sisrael@unca.edu
828-251-6625

Barbara Svenson

Barbara Svenson
Technical Services & 
Resource Management
Librarian
bsvenson@unca.edu
828-251-6547

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip