BrazilMexicoPeruColombia
Greek ArtRoman ArtIslamic ArtEgyptian Art
BooksJournals
This is the "ART (Comprehensive)" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art  

RESOURCES, including Books, Journals, Reference Materials, Film and Images related to the study of studio arts, art history, and crafts
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.unca.edu/art Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

ART (Comprehensive) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Start with the basic searches below or use the tabs above to locate Books, Journal Articles, Reference Materials, Film and Images, and specific art periods and movements.

 

Library Catalog

  .

Search our Catalog for Books, Journals, DVDs and more

User Submission

Help build this site.

Google Scholar



 

Writing For Art

Writing for Art

Acton, Mary. Learning to Look at Paintings. New York: Routledge, 1997.

Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing about Art. New York: Harper Collins College, 1993.

CITATION

Links to citing resources
Evaluating web information
Making an evaluative annotated bibliography

 

Full-text Books



 

Blogs

"Weblogs" or "Blogs" for short are a growing area for researchers, students and faculty to try out new ideas. The content of blogs can run the full gamut of scholarship and length. Usually presented in reverse chronological order, Blogs can provide personal, political, corporate, aesthetic, collaborative material. The interactive nature of Blogs encourages emerging thoughts in many areas of the arts.

SOME GOOD ONES:

Blog Search Engine
ArtBlog
Modern Art Notes

 

  JSTOR

 

Art Research Guide




 IS FOR ART, AESTHETICS, AWESOME, ATTITUDE, of course UNCA ASHEVILLE, and MUCH MORE! 
  

IN OUR CATALOG  -- see also             N   = General Visual Arts History        
AESTHETICS
ART HISTORY                                      NA  = Architecture
ART IN THE STUDIO
ART EDUCATION                                  NB  = Sculpture
ART RESEARCH
ART CAREERS                                      NC  = Drawing, Illustration  Design
ART AND RELIGION
ART AND LITERATURE                         ND  = Painting 
ART BIOGRAPHIES
ARCHITECTURE                                   NE  = Print Media
ART AND COMMERCE
ART CONSERVATION                           NK  = Decorative & Applied Arts
                                                       
                                                        TR  = Photography
                                      
cricketART CONVERSATIONS, AND MORE ..

Key Resources

WorldCat. Index to over 41 million book and audiovisual catalog records in 17,000 libraries. WorldCat, a FirstSearch database, is not a periodical index, but contains some periodical article citations.  Some excellent  image resources may be found by location within this world catalog.  Also, explore the public WorldCat and experiment with the bibliographic tool available on the site that may assist in creating bibliographies and formating bibliographies. 

CREDO Reference.Credo Reference contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, biblographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology.

Art Full Text. Full text access to 300 art journals, including yearbooks, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. May be searched together with Humanities Full Text. H.W.Wilson

Humanities Full Text. (1984+) Index to the major journals in the humanities, with full-text articles from over 170 titles. Includes literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classics, performing arts, and religion. H.W.Wilson

 JSTOR. The scholarly journal archive; provides full text of over 450 journals covering a broad array of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. UNCA collections include Arts and Sciences I, II, III, and IV. See detailed lists.Academic Search Premier. Multi-disciplinary database with indexing for more than 8,000 publications and full text for 4,500+ of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further.  EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete. Multi-disciplinary database with indexing for more than 8,000 publications and full text for 4,500+ of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further.  EBSCOhost

MasterFILE Premier (indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+)  Includes general interest periodicals. EBSCOhost

ARTstor.   ARTstor Digital Library launched 162,000 new images this past year (2010).  It now shares 1,250,000 images in the United Sates and 1,040,000 images internationally with 1,300 institutions in 42 countries.  Relevant for study of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design and other forms of visual culture.  Users can search, view, and save images for scholarly use.  

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online.  Offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course Web sites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.

Humanities Journals from Project Muse. Search 200 full-text journals from leading university presses. Covers a broad range of disciplines, including the performing arts, literature, history, and religion.

Cambridge Collections Online (CCO). Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

Rhizome.orgAn online archive of "global new media art."  The ArtBase holds 1600+ pieces of software art and performances and websites from international artists, and the TextBase contains discussion and critical writing about digital art.  Create a free account to take advantage of advanced features

ATLA Religion Database. Online collection of major religion and theology journals including full text for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews, from 150 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. 1908-present.

Historical Abstracts.  Indexes the scholarly literature of world history, 1450-present. ABC-CLIO

America: History and Life.  Indexes the scholarly literature about all periods of American history. Includes abstracts. ABC-CLIO

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present. Available online through Web of Knowledge.  Click [Change Limits and Settings] and select Arts & Humanities Citation Index. ISI   

Cambridge University Press. Online access to over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals in African Studies, Agriculture, American Studies, Animal Science, Archaeology, Anthropology, Architecture, Asian Studies, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business, Classical Studies, Computer Science, Cultural Studies, Earth and Atmospheric Science, Ecology and Conservation, Economics, Engineering, European Studies, History, History and Philosophy of Science, Language and Linguistics, Latin American Studies, Law, Literary Studies, Mathematics, Medical Policy, Medicine, Middle East Studies, Molecular Biology, Music and Drama, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Philosophy, Physical Science, Plant Science, Politics and International Relations, Psychology and Psychiatry, Religious Studies, Social Studies

Oxford Scholarship OnlineContains the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

Oxford University Press.  Provides access to over 180 scholarly titles in the fields of: Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law

Oxford African American Studies Center.  Contains 7,500 articles from core reference works, primary sources, photographs, maps and charts and tables.

Philosopher's Index (1940-present). Index to journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews from over 480 philosophy journals originating from 38 countries. Contains author-written abstracts

Wiley InterScience. Contains the full-text content of over 850 journals in Business, Economics, Finance, Accounting, Construction, Engineering, Computing, Technology, Health Sciences, Humanities, Law, Criminology, Life and Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Statistics, Medicine, Social and Behavioral Sciences, The Arts, Veterinary Medicine, Animal Sciences, Agriculture and Aquaculture

      
     

    ArtStor Image Searching

    Leonardo

    SEARCH ARTstor
    In 2004 ARTStor held 300,000 images. Today the database contains well over 1,000,000 images of art, architecture, social sciences, and humanities and still growing.

     

    RSS - Oxford Art Journal

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    College Art Association

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding

    Visual Resources Association

    VRA BULLETIN

    • Visual Resources Association
      The Visual Resources Association is a multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the
      educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments. The Association is committed to providing leadership in the visual resources field, developing and
      advocating standards, and offering educational tools and opportunities for the benefit of the community at large.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip