Key Reference SourcesHandbooks, Encyclopedias, ManualsBiographyBibliographiesStatistical Sources
Academic/Research/museumsSlave HistoryOrganizations
This is the "Subject Guide Home" page of the "African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Studies  

a guide to resources
Last Updated: May 16, 2012 URL: http://libguides.unca.edu/AfricanAmerican Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Subject Guide Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalog

Search our Catalog for Books, Journals, DVDs and more


 

JSTOR

 

Search EBSCO

Search selected EBSCO databases





(Search EBSCO from off-campus.)

 

Subject Research Guide

Ramsey LibrarySupreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall 

Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall          WikiMedia Commons

Marshall (1908 - 1993) was a lawyer, civil rights activist, and the first African American member of the Supreme Court of the United States (1967–91).

Key Subject Resources

  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Documents the field of African American Studies and Africana Studies with more than 8,000 articles, hundreds of primary source documents, images, maps, and charts and tables, covering Arts and Leisure, Business and Economics, Education and Academia, Government and Politics, History, Religion and Spirituality, and Science and Medicine.
  • America: History and Life
    Indexes the scholarly literature about all periods of American history. Includes abstracts. (ABC-CLIO)
  • American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
    Part of the ABC-Clio eBook Collection. From 1936 to 1938, over 4,000 slave narratives were collected under the auspices of the Works Projects Administration. Search by name, location, age, or subject.
  • SocIndex with full text
    Contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. Also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers. (EBSCOhost)
 

Contact

To schedule a research
consultation, contact your
subject librarian:

Anita White-Carter
whitecar@unca.edu

 

Africanca Studies

Please visit our Africana Studies Library Guide for additional information.

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip